Freezer whaaaat????

My friend Ana from Toil&Trouble, knitter extraordinaire and my official Etsy guru is also great at finding interesting ideas and blogs in the internet. She is always sending me great links. Today she sends me an email about freezer jam… my reply? “Whaaaaaaat?”

Still skeptical I Googled “freezer jam”, and at the same time I’m amazed that Google actually had a ton of results she sends me this link:

http://vegancraftastic.blogspot.com/2011/06/blueberry-lemon-freezer-jam-recipe.html

If the photo in the blog post is indeed the final product I thought it was worth a try. Serendipitously enough, I took my son, my mom and my mom-in-law strawberry picking on Saturday. A quick stop at the supermarket (for some pectin and the lemon), off I went trying this miracle recipe.

Mom and her bounty!

I bought the “instant pectin” in the recipe. I also got 1 pint of blueberries because I knew I would not have enough strawberries. One of the best things about this recipe, besides the obvious simplicity and no mess, is that almost no heat is needed (only to “cook” the pectin), making this jam a wonderful project to do with kids. My son had a blast mashing the fruit and mixing in the sugar. Speaking of sugar, this is the downside I noticed so far… the ratio of fruit and sugar is much higher in this no-cooking version. I saw a box of pectin that mentioned being for recipes with less sugar. It did not mean anything to me at the time, but now I wonder if this kind will be better. So far this is what I have:

Freezer Jam

Now I sit and wait… I’ll report if the setting was sucessful after 24 hours!

One Response

  1. I can’t wait to try this myself!

Leave a comment