Emergency Operation

I have been away from the blog for a while. I was supposed to have launched podcast 3 last Friday. I was actually supposed to have a done a lot of things, both in my professional and personal lives. Last Monday around 10 am I was struck by severe pain on my abdomen while getting some coffee with a friend of mine. I dismissed the pain at first, went back upstairs, sat down my coffee and went back to the basement of my building. We have a women’s restroom there that is more private, since almost no one uses it. I was there, literally crawling, for about an hour. When I realized I was not going to be able to go back to my desk I called my husband, asking him to pick me up. I was crying, and I was afraid. My husband told me to call go to the emergency room. He was very far from my office, and told me to call 911. Can you imagine an ambulance stopping in front of my building, and no one even knowing that I was down there in pain? I told him I was going to call a co-worker for help.

I call this very sweet girl who works with me, and asked her to come downstairs. I asked her to bring my stuff, call a cab and google for me the nearest hospital. She not only did all of the above, she actually went with me on the cab, and stayed with me all day long until my husband arrived. Once we got to the emergency room I was seen pretty quickly, and a battery of exams started.

What happened from that point on all seems like a nightmare. I’m still not certain all of it happened. I had internal bleeding from a ruptured ovarian cyst. Apparently they are not that uncommon, but mine burst too close of a blood vessel. My condition deteriorated rapidly. To make the story short I ended up on the operating room, where they removed more the 2 liters of blood and clot from my pelvic cavity. I was so weak I had to take a blood transfusion. I came home Thursday night. I’m not recuperating as fast as I was hoping. I’m in a lot of pain, and very tired. Right now I’m trying to solve my situation at work. Thank goodness I have short term disability.

I’m not sure when I’m releasing another podcast. I’m trying to gather enough motivation to go back to my laptop. I feel like laying down all day long, but there is no comfortable position. Right now I’m just in  pain, a whole lotta pain…

10 Responses

  1. I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been so unwell. Please don’t worry about the podcast – just take very good care of yourseld.

    Sending you lots and lots of healing energy.

    Guru Nam

  2. What a terrible, frightening thing to happen! I will pray for an end to your pain, quick healing and recovery. God bless.

  3. Oh my. I’m glad you are okay. My first ovarian cyst explosion was in a bathroom, trying on my cheerleading uniform in high school. Blinding pain, vomiting and then passed out. I, too, had the surgery and needed a transfusion….

    I’m so sorry this happened to you. I don’t know your situation, but b.c. pills helped immensely after.

  4. So sorry to hear about your horrible experience, concentrate on getting yourself well and don’t even think about podcasts! Sending lots of healing energy from England.

    Take care

    Sarah

  5. Best wishes for a full and speedy recovery.

  6. I’m so sorry to read about your illness. Believe me, it will all be well soon. Your body just needs a bit time to get its strength back. Hope your hubby gives you lots of energy.

    Don’t worry about the podcast, we won’t abandon you ;o)

    get better

  7. OMG! Gees, get better soon, and thanks for letting us know. What did we ever do without cell phones? Kudos for having it with you, half the time I forget mine. I don’t think I’ll do that anymore, might save my life next.

    Right with all your other fans, we’ll wait, and sending you healing energy (I actually am an energy healer, and so will actually do this!)

  8. I just listened to your first one as I pieced a quilt this afternoon, and I really liked it. I hope you get well fast and can get back to podcasting soon, but be sure to take all the time you need. We’ll wait.

  9. Just wondering, how are you? Hope you are improving. Still in my prayers.

  10. I hope you are feeling better. Thank you for posting here, your podcasts are very organized and it seemed like you had a schedule you wanted to keep, so I was starting to worry when you didn’t post a new one. Whenever you have the time and energy to record a new podcast, I will be happy to hear it 🙂

Leave a Reply

