WholeLottaSinger Podcast Episode 1

[blip.tv ?posts_id=2441885&dest=51712] 

Today I’ll talk… a lot… too many ideas, so please bear with me.

Many thanks to my dear husband for all the patience teaching me how to edit audio (hard stuff!)

Thanks to:

Silencio for “Fim da vida”  and “Desire”

Melt for “Comfortable”

Ricardo Botticelli (you can find him on Facebook) for “Eternal Youth”

For generously allowing me to share their amazing songs with all of you.

Craftlit

QN  By the Shore of the Ganges

For the ITunes link go here.

12 Responses

  1. I love your podcast, I heard about from Brye Lynn. I love hers also! I love my 33 year old Bernina because it is not computerized. I am looking forward to learning more about vintage sewing machines. I wish I had my grandmother’s treadle but of course no one thought it was worth keeping in the family. i love the music you play, the information about your machines and family, and enjoy your blog. What wonderful pictures of your little boy! Looking forward to the second podcast!!
    Thank you for doing your podcast; it’s great!
    Emily

    • Hi Emily!
      Thank you so much for commenting on my blog. I’m so glad you enjoyed the first episode of the podcast! It’s always tough to gauge how people will receive your ideas, and to see that people appreciate makes everything worthwhile. The vintage Berninas are amazing. They are actually hard to get, and sort of expensive in the vintage world (like Vikings). I think it has to do with the fact that they did not “nose dived” like Singer, that went from making great machines to producing the “made in China” cheapos you see out there nowadays. I’d love to see a picture of your girl if you would send me!
      I really do hope you’ll come back for episode 2, it will be a very special one.
      WLS

  2. I greatly enjoyed your first podcast. In particular, I found your your emphasis on the resources available to the modern crafter in contrast to previous generations of crafters generated a lot of thought. The addition of music was a nice touch.
    I am looking forward to more great podcasts in the near future.

  3. Hello! I loved your first episode. Very well-produced, the quality was terrific! I put a link to your show on my blog, and also talked about it on my Episode 11 of Quilted Cupcake.

    I think your show format is fabulous, and unique. I can’t wait to hear more!

    Best of luck! Please keep in touch.

  4. I just finished listening to your very first podcast – congratulations! I heard the promo on Craftlit and was intrigued. I am not a seamstress/sewer, though I do know how to sew. I am a knitter and handspinner. But I truly loved listening to you – especially your comments about wanting to be connected to your sewing rather than separated from it by technology. I’m looking forward to your next episode!

    Penelope
    muzzerz on Ravelry

  5. I had to let you know what a fantastic podcast that was! Thank you! You echoed my feelings and thoughts on so many things. I don’t even know where to start commenting, there was so much food for thought in your podcast. I guess I’ll just say that I’m looking forward to your next one! I have an old treadle machine that was passed on to me that I have been wanting to fix up and start using (it needs a little TLC). Maybe your podcast will give me the push I need to get going on that project.
    I’m also in the Northeast (Maine) and it’s very nice to hear a podcast from someone nearby.

  6. I heard about your podcast from Brye Lynn and want to thank you for all your effort. It was wonderful and I truly enjoyed listening. We are all often our worst critics and I know the time and effort of putting a podcast together is a great sacrifice. But rest assured, it was very good in my humble opinion. I have a computerized machine and also two vintage machines. You are right about the computerized machines. I bought a top of the line Viking a few years ago. Since then they have come out with more technology that would cost me a lot to upgrade. They also introduced a new top of the line machine which is even more expensive than mine is. I like mine just as it is but now have to worry about it becoming obsolete. My grandmother’s treadle will not have that problem.
    I look forward to hearing more from you.Yes, we are out here listening!

  7. Thanks for an enjoyable podcast! You might also be interested in a book called, No Idle Hands: The Social History of American Knitting by Anne MacDonald. It is a very large book and I have to admit I didn’t read all of it but some very interesting and surprising info. Looking forward to your next podcast.

  8. Great first start! I’m a total fan of vintage machines, owning 8 of them – some Singers, but also a 1952 Pfaff that will sew nearly anything, two Elna SU’s from the 1960’s that make the purtiest stitch ever! Also, the Elna SU’s make free motion a breeze. My ‘everyday’ machine is a 20 y/o Elna 7000, one of the first electronic machines. You hit the nail on the head by saying you wanted to be close to the process, I never quite could put into words how I felt. My machines DO make my heart flutter! If I couldn’t mess with the tension, what’s the point? Keep it up! Have you read Singer Instructions for Art Embroidery and Lace Work? If you can get your hands on it, it’s a gem, it will send your heart aflutter. A book first published over 50 years ago, the embroidery is stunning, who needs those expensive machines?

  9. I just loved your first show. I like the topic and especially your voice. Although, I sew most my things (clothes and quilts) by hand, but I own and even sometimes use my 30 year old Husqvarna which I love. It is a heavy duty machine without too much fancy stuff and very reliable. It was a school machine for about a decade, before it came to me. And I have my treadle Pfaff, which has to be cleaned now, but still works fine.

    I can relate very much with your opinion on “simple” tools. I am a handspinner as well, and before I bought myself a wheel, I spun on hand spindles for a very long time.

    Sewing by hand and spinning on a hand spindle has one big advantage for me: it is portable. I can sit and sew wherever and whenever I want. Since I am used to sew by hand, I don’t even use zigzag on the machine, so all those fancy stitches are of no use to me, anyways.

    I am waiting for your next installment. I don’t listen to too many podcasts (only two up to now) but yours will be my third, I will listen to regularily.

  10. Thank you so much for the inspiring and thought provoking podcast. I really enjoyed it and can definitely relate to your premise. Some time back I workded for a Bernina Dealer and bought a fancy computerized embroidery machine. I quickly realized that my primary interest was in creating embroidery that looked hand down. It seemed so bizaare. I have to admit that the techy part of my brain enjoyed the software part and digitizing (creating desings) but I rarely used the sewing machine to actually stitch them out. I preferred to use my old mechancial Bernina and do the embroidery by hand.
    Your voice is very pleasant to listen to and I look forward to future episodes. Thanks again.
    gnk

  11. I really enjoyed the first podcast, looking forward to the next! I saw your promo in the Cast On show notes, and was so interested that I listed to you even before Cast On. While I do have a newer sewing machine, it is a fairly basic model and I really don’t miss not having lots of fancy stitches. I also have an old Singer treadle machine that my mother in law fixed up for me. You may motivate me to get the belt on it and give it a try!

Leave a Reply

