Craft Whore

Heather Ordover from Craftlit calls herself a “craft whore”, and I have to admit the description certainly fits me. It’s not that I can’t focus or that I am a fickle person. Quite the contrary, in the craft world I am an abomination: I am a monogamous crafter. Yes, I do not take any satisfaction of starting a thousand projects at one time. I start one and stick with it until I finish. If I don’t finish, and decide the project has no legs I just frog it, but I don’t have a box full of UFO’s. With the quilting it has been different because I am taking classes, which of course have different projects, but because they are all gear towards specific technique the projects are very different in nature. And I have a personal rule that I won’t allow myself to sign up for more classes if I start not finishing projects. So far I have been pretty on track.

There are 3 main reasons why I am so drawn to crafts in general. First I live by the motto that in life when it comes to having “things” you have 3 options: you have the money to buy, you live with the fact you won’t have it, or you learn how to make it. Second I take great personal satisfaction of doing things with my hands. To me there’s magic into turning a ball of yarn into a lace shawl, and to know it was made by my hands. It reminds me that despite all of the technology around me I’m still able to create beautiful things from basic supplies. The third reason is that I am a very process oriented person. To me the main satisfaction of getting from A to C comes from dwelling on the B for a while. Understanding the anatomy of a sock, or the complexity of a lace pattern, or cutting pieces of fabric and reorganizing it into a new cloth are fascinating things. It makes me more appreciative of the day to day items, now produced by machine, and the human ability of creating machines and processes of mass production. Not that I am a big fan of mass production per se, but considering the reality of a planet of billions that is growing exponentially, one would think the ability to mass produce would bridge the gap between immediate needs and people. Of course we all know that’s not the case, but in principal it is a wonderful thing that men’s creativity can come up the machines that I see on the Science Channel show “How it’s made”. It’s the utopia from Star Trek and the replicators (the machine of my dreams), when Piccard explains how hunger and need were eradicated from earth, and people’s goals became to better themselves… But I digress.

I guess I’m trying to make sense of why, as I put this blog together and look at all the crafts I’ve experienced (knitting, quilting, upholstering, beading, sewing, cake decorating, crochet, needlepoint, to  name a few), I am so drawn to making things myself. Like my husband says to pull my leg when watching me cut 720 2-3/4″ by 2-3/4″ squares for my American Pie quilt “Why don’t you just  buy a comforter at Target?” I know, don’t even get me started…

Leave a Reply

